

Every physician matters, each patient counts.

# President's Welcome and Acknowledgments

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

It is hard to believe that my term as president of the Medical Society has come to an end. It has been a challenging and rewarding year. I have been honored to represent our members.

Our members' participation in the MMS' Committees, Advisory Groups, Task Forces, and Sections is the cornerstone of our success, setting the policies and principles for which we stand. I am grateful for the dedication and talent of MMS staff, whose hard and thoughtful work has helped guide me and the Society through the many crises in health care.



Barbara S. Spivak, MD

Best wishes to my fellow officers, President-elect

Hugh Taylor and Vice President Olivia Liao. I know our capable leaders will continue to guide our prestigious Society with skill and grace and with the support of members and staff to ensure that "Every physician matters, each patient counts."

I thank all of you for your support during my tenure.

Barbara Barbara S. Spivak, MD President, Massachusetts Medical Society



## Program

## RECEPTION AND NANCY N. CARON ANNUAL MEMBER ART EXHIBIT — 5:00 PM

### WELCOME AND OPENING REMARKS - 6:00 PM

Lois Dehls Cornell, Executive Vice President (Master of Ceremonies)

### **Presentation of Awards**

### Barbara A. Rockett, MD, Early Career Physician Leadership Award

Recognizes an early career physician who has demonstrated exemplary leadership in organized medicine, patient advocacy, and mentorship.



Emily C. Cleveland Manchanda, MD, MPH

## Grant V. Rodkey, MD, Award for Outstanding Contributions to Medical Education

Recognizes a physician who has made significant contributions to medical students, both in the hospital and in organized medicine.



Dennis J. Spencer, MD, PhD

## Henry Ingersoll Bowditch Award for Excellence in Public Health

Recognizes a Massachusetts physician who has demonstrated outstanding initiative, creativity, and leadership in the field of public health outreach and/or advocacy.



James J. O'Connell, MD

### Special Award for Excellence in Medical Service

Recognizes a Massachusetts physician who has made a remarkable demonstration of compassion and dedication to the medical needs of patients and/or a community or has demonstrated a significant act of heroism.



Mary Elizabeth Miotto, MD, MPH, FAAP

### Lifetime Achievement Award

Recognizes a member of the MMS for lasting contributions to the Society and to the practice of medicine in the course of his or her lifetime in the areas of health care delivery, patient care, education, and administration.



Charles A. Welch, MD

## Award for Distinguished Service to the Massachusetts Medical Society

Recognizes a member of the MMS who has made significant contributions to the goals of the Society through demonstrated leadership, member recruitment, committee work, or other endeavors.



Henry L. Dorkin, MD, FAAP

### **Inauguration Ceremony**

Barbara S. Spivak, MD, President Hugh M. Taylor, MD, Incoming President



Barbara S. Spivak, MD



Hugh M. Taylor, MD

### REFRESHMENTS — 7:00 PM

# MMS and Alliance Leadership 2023-2024

Barbara S. Spivak, MD, President Hugh M. Taylor, MD, President-elect Olivia C. Liao, MD, FACS, Vice President Lynda G. Kabbash, MD, FAAAAI, Secretary-Treasurer Lee S. Perrin, MD, Assistant Secretary-Treasurer Melody J. Eckardt, MD, MPH, FACOG, Speaker Eli C. Freiman, MD, FAAP, Vice Speaker Gail Gordon Sanchez, MSW, LICSW, President, MMS Alliance Lois Dehls Cornell, Executive Vice President



Barbara S. Spivak, MD



Hugh M. Taylor, MD



Olivia C. Liao, MD, FACS



Lois Dehls Cornell



Lynda G. Kabbash, MD, FAAAAI



Lee S. Perrin, MD



Melody J. Eckardt, MD, MPH, FACOG



Eli C. Freiman, MD, FAAP



Gail Gordon Sanchez, MSW, LICSW

## Board of Trustees 2023-2024

President President-elect Vice President Immediate Past President Secretary-Treasurer Assistant Secretary-Treasurer Speaker Chair. Committee on Finance Barnstable Berkshire Bristol North Bristol South Charles River Essex North Essex South Franklin Hampden Hampshire Middlesex Middlesex Central Middlesex North Middlesex West Norfolk Norfolk South Plymouth Suffolk Worcester Worcester North Resident/Fellow Section Medical Student Section

Barbara S. Spivak, MD Hugh M. Taylor, MD Olivia C. Liao, MD. FACS Theodore A. Calianos II. MD. FACS Lynda G. Kabbash, MD Lee S. Perrin, MD Melody J. Eckardt, MD, MPH, FACOG Sahdev R. Passey, MD Jean M. Bruch, MD, DMD Michael S. Kaplan, MD Christopher Garofalo, MD Kenath J. Shamir, MD David T. Golden, MD Ann B. Spires, MD Thomas A. Murray III, MD Flora F. Sadri-Azarbayejani, DO James K. Wang, MD Katherine J. Atkinson, MD Ana-Cristina Vasilescu, MD Paula Jo Carbone, MD Nidhi K. Lal. MD John A. DeLoge, MD Nicolas Argy, MD, JD Simone S. Wildes. MD George J. Clairmont, MD S. Jay Jayasankar, MD Manjul Shukla, MD Robert B. Coit, MD Primary: Patrick Lowe, MD, PhD Secondary: Elizabeth Conner, MD, MPH Primary: Senila Yasmin Secondary: Archita Goyal

## Additional 2024 Award Recipients

History of Medicine Essay Award

Jacob Jasper for "Radical: Oliver Cope and the Birth of Breast Conservation Therapy"

#### Information Technology Awards

### Resident/Fellow Ted Pak for "Massive Mining of Clinical Notes with Large Language Models to Improve Antibiotic Choice for Sepsis"

#### Student

Arya Rao for "The Future Patient Persona: An Interactive, Large Language Model-Augmented Harvard Clinical Training Companion"

### LGBTQ Health Award

Ellen C. Perrin, MD

#### **Reducing Health Disparities Award**

Alice A. Coombs, MD

## Senior Volunteer Physician of the Year Award Lucy M. Candib, MD

Underrepresented Physicians of Tomorrow Award

Eméfah C. Loccoh, MD Honorable Mentions Lauren Alderette, MD, MPH Patricia Hernández, MD

#### The Women's Health Award

Kathryn Martin, MD

The Women's Health Research Award

Manisha Bahl, MD

## Community Clinician of the Year Awards

**Barnstable** Amy G. Wiegandt, MD

Bristol North Cheryl M. Greenfield, MD

Bristol South Erron S. Plosker, MD

**Charles River** John David Hackett, MD

> Essex North Ria S. Roberts, MD

Essex South Harvey S. Zarren, MD

Franklin Rakesh Talati, MD

Hampden Anand Kanjolia, MD

Hampshire Vikram Grewal, MD

Middlesex Rajendra M. Trivedi, MD

> Middlesex Central Agnes Virga, MD

Middlesex North John A. Ragucci, MD

Middlesex West Wendy J. Parker, MD

Norfolk Nicole R. Mushero, MD, PhD

> Norfolk South Francis P. Duggan, MD

**Plymouth** Thomas A. Morris, MD

Suffolk Marielle C. Baldwin, MD

Worcester Kathryn L. Edmiston, MD

> Worcester North Beth K. Mazyck, MD

## MMS Scholars Awards

**Boston University School of Medicine** 

Natalie Nanez Andrea Wang

#### Harvard Medical School

Ashley Kyalwazi LaShyra Nolan

#### **Tufts University School of Medicine**

Anna Daoud Nick Verdini

University of Massachusetts Medical School

Brian Nickley Mina Botros

# Committee Chair Service Acknowledgments

Victoria J. Noble, MD Committee on Bylaws

Rebecca Weintraub Brendel, MD, JD Committee on Ethics, Grievances, and Professional Standards

> James A. Feldman, MD Committee on Publications

## MMS and Alliance Leadership 2024–2025

Hugh M. Taylor, MD, President Olivia C. Liao, MD, FACS, President-elect Barbara S. Spivak, MD, Immediate Past President Lee S. Perrin, MD, Secretary-Treasurer Eli C. Freiman, MD, FAAP, Speaker Grayson W. Armstrong, MD, MPH, Vice Speaker Gail Gordon Sanchez, MSW, LICSW, President, MMS Alliance Lois Dehls Cornell, Executive Vice President





Every physician matters, each patient counts.