Committee on History

Recommends actions and activities to preserve the history of the Society and recognize its accomplishments. Sponsors an annual medical student essay contest focused on Society-related contributions to health. This committee meets approximately three times a year. 

Committee Members
Scott A. Podolsky, Norfolk, Chair
Alfred DeMaria, Middlesex, Vice Chair
Louis Fazen, III, Worcester
Subramanyan Jayasankar, Suffolk
Edith M. Jolin, Plymouth
Elizabeth J. Quinn, Essex North
Sita Ram Upadhyay, Worcester

Resident and Fellow:  
Member:  Geoffrey M. Rutledge, Suffolk

Medical Students:  
Member:  Samia Osman, Norfolk
Alternate: Roger Dunn, Suffolk

Advisors :
Leonard J. Morse, Worcester
Barbara A. Rockett, Norfolk
Grant V. Rodkey, Suffolk

MMS Staff Liaison
Karen Harrison (

Share on Facebook
2015 Interim Meeting

MMS Officer Nomination

The MMS Committee on Nominations is currently considering candidates for the MMS officers. The deadline for submitting an application is January 15, 2016

Submit an Application  »

Get Involved

Contribute your unique talents to the society's efforts. Elected, appointed and volunteer positions are available at district and statewide levels.


Copyright © 2015. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311