Massachusetts Medical Society: Committee on Interspecialty

Committee on Interspecialty

Provides a mechanism for open communication, cooperation, and coordination between and among the medical specialty societies of Massachusetts and their members, and the Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS). Additionally, the committee will present recommendations to the MMS regarding medical specialty specific or practice of medicine issues, with the ultimate goal of providing the highest quality of care to the patients within the Commonwealth. This cmte. meets in June, Sept., Jan., and March. Most meetings held on the next to last Tuesday of the month from 6:00-8:30 p.m. 

Gregory G. Harris, Suffolk, Chair
Fred E. Shapiro, Worcester, Vice Chair

Addiction Medicine
President: Barbara Herbert, Middlesex
Member-at-large:  Jacquelyn J. Starer, Middlesex West

President: Jordan E. Scott, Worcester North 
Member-at-large:  Jonathan L. Bayuk, Hampden

American College of Physicians  
President:  George Abraham, Worcester
Member-at-large: Elisa Choi, Suffolk

President: Sheila Ryan Barnett, Norfolk
Member-at-large: Fred E. Shapiro, Suffolk 

President: Duane S. Pinto, Norfolk
Member-at-large: Clifford Berger, Plymouth

President: Ira Skolnik, Middlesex Central
Member-at-large: Frederick D. Wax, Plymouth

Emergency Physicians
President:  Jeffrey Hopkins, Worcester
Member-at-large: Melisa Lai Becker

Family Physicians
President:  Pablo Hernendez-Itriago
Member-at-large:  TBD

President: Francis P. MacMillan, Jr., Essex North
Member-at-large: Jaya R. Agrawal, Hampshire

President: Eduardo Garcia, Charles River
Member-at-large: Alan H. Kurland, Plymouth 

President: Michael Dean Medlock, Essex South
Member-at-large: TBD

Nuclear Medicine
President: TBD
Member-at-large: Don C. Yoo, Middlesex

Obstetrics & Gynecology
President: Maryanne C. Bombaugh, Barnstable
Member-at-large: Patricia R. Falcao, Charles River

Occupational & Environmental Medicine
President: Philip D. Parks, Norfolk 
Member-at-large: Marie Christine David, Norfolk

President: Elizabeth M. Blanchard, Norfolk
Member-at-large: Claire Fung, Norfolk South

President: John T. Mandeville, Norfolk South
Member-at-large: Jeffrey P. Gallo, Worcester

Orthopedic Surgery
President: Robert Patz, Plymouth  
Member-at-large: Paul J. P. Pongor, Middlesex West

President: Jeffrey S. Brown, Middlesex
Member-at-large:  Theodore P. Mason, Hampden

President: William D. Kasimer, Plymouth
Member-at-large: Anthony J. Guidi, Essex South

President: Michael L. McManus, Norfolk
Member-at-large: DeWayne M. Pursley, Norfolk

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
President:  TBD
Member-at-large:  TBD

Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery
President: Matthias B. Donelan, Suffolk
Member-at-large:  TBD

President: Donna M. Norris, Norfolk
Member-at-large: Gregory Harris, Norfolk

President: Martin Joyce-Brady, Plymouth 
Member-at-large: Mohammad Reda, Charles River

President: Deborah Levine, Charles River
Member-at-large: Bruce G. Stewart, Essex South

President: Michael T. Jaklitsch, Norfolk South
Member-at-large: Anne C. Larkin, Worcester

President: Luke M. O’Connell, Suffolk
Member-at-large: Mitchell H. Bamberger, Worcester

Resident and Fellow:
Delegate: Rhea Bhargava, Middlesex
Alternate Delegate:  TBD

Medical Student Section:
Delegate: Jeffrey Breton, Suffolk 
Alternate Delegate: Dylan Heckscher, Suffolk 

MMS Staff Liaison: 
Jillian Pedrotty (

Share on Facebook

Call for Nominations

The MMS Committee on Nominations is currently seeking candidates for the Massachusetts Delegation to the AMA. Application deadline: August 20, 2018.

More information and application.

Get Involved

Contribute your unique talents to the society's efforts. Elected, appointed and volunteer positions are available at district and statewide levels.


Copyright © 2018. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311