Massachusetts Medical Society: Committee on Public Health

Committee on Public Health

This committee recommends and leads a public health agenda for the Society to achieve the greatest positive impact on the health and well-being of the public and to reflect the resources, mission and strategic direction of the Society. This committee meets 6 times per year from 6:30-8:30 p.m. Participation by teleconference is an option. 

Click Here to see MMS videos on Issues Impacting Public Health.

Committee Members
James B. Broadhurst, Worcester, Chair
Simone S. Wildes, Norfolk South, Vice Chair
Nicolas Argy, Norfolk
Clifford J. Bierman, Middlesex West
Adepeju G. Champion, Essex
David M. Crandell, Suffolk
Alfred DeMaria, Jr., Middlesex
Louis Fazen, Worcester
Michael P. Hirsh, Worcester
Michael A. Lew, Charles River
Barbara J. Moore, Norfolk South
Bisola Ojikutu, Suffolk
Steven A. Ringer, Charles River

Chair or designee from each of the public health related special committees:
Committee on Diversity in Medicine - Simone S. Wildes, Norfolk South
Committee on Environmental & Occupational Health - Alan C. Rodgers, Essex South
Committee on Geriatric Medicine - Janet L. Jankowiak, Norfolk
Committee on Global Health - Julia A. Benedetti, Middlesex
Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Matters - David P. Norton, Hampshire
Committee on Maternal and Perinatal Welfare - Lisa G. Matthews, Norfolk
Committee on Men's Health - Theodore E. Macnow, Norfolk
Committee on Nutrition and Physical Activity - Fatima Cody Stanford, Suffolk
Committee on Oral Health - Rebekah L. Rollston, Middlesex
Committee on Preparedness - John J. Looney, Norfolk
Committee on Student Health and Sports Medicine - Nolan Condron, Worcester
Committee on Violence Intervention and Prevention - Ylisabyth S. Bradshaw, Essex North

Resident and Fellow: 
Member: Blair Robinson, Worcester

Medical Students:   
Member: Richard Lu, Norfolk
Alternate: Nina Gummadi, Suffolk

Alliance Liaisons:                                    
Member:  Paula J. Madison
Alternate: Sophia Bogdasarian

Catherine M. Brown, DVM
John W. Burress, Charles River
Michele David, Norfolk, Advisor
Barbara Herbert, Middlesex
David P. Norton, Hampshire
James J. O’Connell, Suffolk
Gregory R. Schwartz, Suffolk
Vincent C. Smith, Norfolk
Alan C. Woodward, Middlesex Central

MMS Staff Liaison:  
Susan Webb (

Share on Facebook

Get Involved

Contribute your unique talents to the society's efforts. Elected, appointed and volunteer positions are available at district and statewide levels.


Copyright © 2019. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311