Massachusetts Medical Society: Committee on Quality of Medical Practice

Committee on Quality of Medical Practice

The Quality of Medical Practice is focused on the improvement of the quality of health care provided by physicians, including attention to patient and physician satisfaction/experience and cost effectiveness. The committee serves as consultants to the Board of Trustees and the House of Delegates to define quality of health care, as well as to monitor quality initiatives, create and coordinate activities  to improve and measure the quality of health care and factors affecting the practice environment. This committee meets approximately 4 times a year with additional conference call meetings as needed. 

Committee Members
Barbara S. Spivak, Middlesex, Chair
Richard J. Lopez, Middlesex, Vice Chair
Nicolas Argy, Norfolk
Maryanne C. Bombaugh, Barnstable
David G. Fairchild, Worcester
James M. Kirshenbaum, Norfolk
Sharon L. Marable, Middlesex West
Judith A. Melin, Norfolk
Eric B. Miller, Middlesex  
Debra Poskanzer, Middlesex
James M. Richter, Suffolk

Resident and Fellow:  
Member: Matthew C. Germak, Charles River

Medical Students:  
Member: Daniel Liebman, Norfolk
Alternate: Biqi Zhang, Norfolk

Essam Al-Ansari, Charles River
Deepa P. Arya, Charles River
James A. Feldman, Suffolk
James Gebhardt, Hampden
Alexander A. Hannenberg, Charles River
Cyrus C. Hopkins, Suffolk
Subramanyan Jayasankar, Suffolk
Elizabeth A. Mort, Suffolk
James G. Petros, Suffolk
Cynthia N. Rosenberg, Charles River
Robert A. Sands, Norfolk
Khuloud Shukha, Suffolk
Nikhil M. Thakkar, Hampden
Abigail H. Waldman, Norfolk

MMS Staff Liaisons:
Yael Miller (

Share on Facebook
Annual Meeting 2018 Rail

Get Involved

Contribute your unique talents to the society's efforts. Elected, appointed and volunteer positions are available at district and statewide levels.


Copyright © 2018. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311