Massachusetts Medical Society: Committee on Recognition Awards

Committee on Recognition Awards

As a committee of the Board of Trustees (BOT), the Committee on Recognition Awards’ mission is to annually solicit nominations for the Massachusetts Medical Society’s recognition awards, to review all nominations, and to make final recommendations to the BOT. Visit here for more information about the MMS Awards Program and to download applications for the various awards. 

The Committee on Recognition Awards is also responsible for oversight and approval of new and existing MMS recognition awards. Sponsors of new awards should complete an application by the end of August for consideration at CORA’s September meeting or before the end of December for consideration at CORA’s January meeting. Please contact the staff liaisons below with any questions. Download the PDF to your computer, fill out the form, and click “Submit” at the end of the form. This will attach the PDF to an email. Send the email to the address provided in the message.

Download Form (.pdf, 2 pages)

Committee Members
Katherine J. Atkinson, Hampshire, Chair
Shakti S. Sabharwal, Norfolk, Vice Chair
Bruce S. Auerbach, Bristol North
Robert B. Coit, Worcester North
Melody J. Eckardt, Norfolk South
Julia F. Edelman, Bristol North
Thomas A. LaMattina, Middlesex
Keith C. Nobil, Essex South
Kenath Shamir, Bristol South

Resident and Fellow:
Member: Emily Cleveland Manchanda, Suffolk

Medical Student:  
Member: Niharika Singh, Suffolk

Alliance Liaisons:    
Member: Open
Alternate: Open

MMS Staff Liaisons
Karen Harrison (  

Share on Facebook

Get Involved

Contribute your unique talents to the society's efforts. Elected, appointed and volunteer positions are available at district and statewide levels.

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedInYouTube logoInstagram

Copyright © 2021. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311