Suffolk District Medical Society

Suffolk District Medical Society Officers 2017-2018

President: Fred Shapiro, D.O.
Vice President:  James Feldman, M.D.
Secretary/Treasurer: Shaan-Chirag Gandhi, M.D., Ph.D.

Contact Information

Mailing Address: 860 Winter Street, Waltham, MA  02451-1411
Telephone Number: 781-434-7211; 800-944-5562

District Event/Activity Contact:
Linda Howard, Manager

Scholarship Announcement

The Suffolk District Medical Society announced its first annual medical student scholarship program in 2009. The district leadership has come to realize the increasing problem of medical student debt and would like to offer students in the district an opportunity to receive a scholarship.

Three awards of $3,000 each will be granted.


  1. Enrollment in good standing in the MD program of a Massachusetts medical school
  2. Eligible for 2nd, 3rd and 4th year students
  3. Membership in the Suffolk District Medical Society
  4. One award per individual - no repeat awardees in future years


  1. Cover letter with a brief statement of personal goals (maximum 1 page)
  2. Curriculum vitae containing legal residential address (maximum 2 pages) 
  3. A statement of academic standing from the medical school
  4. A letter of recommendation from a member of the Massachusetts Medical Society (preferably a Suffolk District member, and not from a medical student or resident)

Selection criteria:

  1. Quality of personal statement
  2. Academic and literary achievements
  3. Interest in community service or advocacy
  4. A diversity of represented medical schools will be sought

Application deadline: December 31

The scholarship awards will be presented at the Annual Meeting of the Suffolk District Medical Society, typically held in March.  Mail completed applications to:

Massachusetts Medical Society
Northeast Regional Office
860 Winter St.
Waltham, MA 02451-1411

Suffolk District News

Norfolk and Suffolk District held a legislative breakfast on Friday, June 2, 2017 at Faulkner Hospital.   Legislative breakfast, June 2nd 2017

Pictured left to right are: Ronna Wallace, MMS Legislative Consultant, Mangadhara Madineedi, M.D., Ammu Susheela, M.D., James Gessner, M.D., Representative Liz Malia, Francis X. Rockett, M.D., Barbara Rockett, M.D., Representative Bill Driscoll, S. Jay Jayasankar, M.D., Representative Paul McMurtry, Michael Annunziata, M.D., Stephen Epstein, M.D., Representative Jeffrey Roy and Steven Young, M.D.

Sondra Crosby  M.D. was presented with the 2017 Community Clinician of the Year award for Suffolk District

Shapiro, Crosby (2017 CCYA) Feldman and Craighill

Pictured from left to right- Marian Craighill, M.D., District Chair, Nominations, James Feldman, M.D, Vice President, Sondra Crosby, MD, 2017 Community Clinician of the Year, and Fred Shapiro, DO, President

2017 Scholarhip - Ricky Sharma, for Priya Shankar, Fred Shapiro, DO, Katelyn Foley

2017 Suffolk District Scholarship recipients: pictured from left to right are Katelyn Foley, Fred Shapiro, DO, President, and Ricky Sharma (accepting award for Priya Shankar)

Share on Facebook

Get Involved

Contribute your unique talents to the society's efforts. Elected, appointed and volunteer positions are available at district and statewide levels.


Copyright © 2017. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311