2022 MMS AWARDS



BERNARD S. LEVY, MD (posthumously) Lifetime Achievement Award



MARYANNE C. BOMBAUGH, MD, MSC, MBA Award for Distinguished Service to the MMS



MONICA BHAREL, MD, MPH Special Award for Excellence in Medical Service



JOSEPH M. HEYMAN, MD Joseph M. Heyman, MD Award for Outstanding Contributions to Organized Medicine

(See article, page 5)



LOUIS FAZEN III, MD, MPH Henry Ingersoll Bowditch Award for Excellence in Public Health



SCOTT K. EPSTEIN, MD Grant V. Rodkey, MD Award for Outstanding Contributions to Medical Education



GRAYSON W. ARMSTRONG, MD, MPH

Barbara A. Rockett, MD Early Career Physician Leadership Award



Every physician matters, each patient counts.



REGAN MANAYAN for The Immigrant as a Scapegoat: Contrasting the Experience of the Immigrant in the 1916: Polio Epidemic and the COVID-19 Pandemic

History of Medicine Essay Award



MARCELLA JEWELL (Student) for Pediatric Behavioral Health Tracking Dashboard

L ANDY CHU, MD, MPH, MBA (Resident) for Adult & Pediatric Resuscitation Apps

Information Technology Awards



ANDREW C. JORGENSEN, MD The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender & Queer (LGBTQ) Health Award



JOAN Y. REEDE, MD Reducing Health Disparities Award



STEPHEN M. WITTENBERG, MD Senior Volunteer Physician of the Year Award



JASMYNE JACKSON, MD Underrepresented Physicians of Tomorrow Award*



MONICA BHAREL, MD, MPH The Woman Physician Leadership Award

Committee Chair Service Awards



SAMIR K. PATEL, MD Committee on Membership



LUIS T. SANCHEZ, MD Committee on Senior Physicians



PEI-LI HUANG, MD Committee on Women's Health

* Honorable Mentions: Kevin Dao and Philomena Nwanze

Community Clinician of the Year Awards



MIR F. SHUTTARI, MD BARNSTABLE



LARA SETTI, MD BERKSHIRE



WILLIAM R. BRANDON, MD BRISTOL NORTH



DANIEL F. SOUSA, MD BRISTOL SOUTH



LEONARD M. FINN, MD CHARLES RIVER



RYAN J. DONO, MD ESSEX NORTH



KIAME J. MAHANIAH, MD ESSEX SOUTH



ANGELA M. MARTAGON-VILLAMIL, MD FRANKLIN



MATTHEW D. SADOF, MD HAMPDEN



MICHELLE W. HELMS, MD HAMPSHIRE



MICHAEL W. YOGMAN, MD MIDDLESEX



MARTIN J. KAFINA, MD MIDDLESEX CENTRAL



A. DAVID SIMKIN, MD MIDDLESEX NORTH



ANN T. NUTT, MD NORFOLK



SIMONE S. WILDES, MD NORFOLK SOUTH



JOHN M. WENGRYN, MD PLYMOUTH



JESSIE M. GAETA, MD SUFFOLK



JUNE R. O'CONNOR, MD WORCESTER

(MISSING PHOTOS) RONALD D. ABRAMSON, MD, MIDDLESEX WEST ROBERT A. BABINEAU JR., MD, WORCESTER NORTH

Boston University School of Medicine



PHILOMENA NWANZE



TAYLOR JAMIL

Tufts University School of Medicine



MEGHAN MURPHY



ALEXANDRA COSTON

Harvard Medical School



MAHEETHA BHARADWAJ



SAMUEL LYON

University of Massachusetts Medical School



ALEC ALLAIN



DEIRDRE BUCKLEY

GEORGES S. ABOURJAILY, MD JONATHAN L. ADLER, MD ALEXANDER ALTSCHULLER, MD DAVID A. BAILEN, MD KATHLEEN A. BARZUN, MD ALAN S. BELLO, MD KARL T. BENEDICT JR., MD ROBERT M. BERGER, MD JOHN H. BRANDT, MD GILBERT D. BRINCKERHOFF, MD WILLIAM M. CARLETON, MD PETER S. CHEN, MD PIN-YANG CHEN, MD CURTIS R. CLAYMAN, MD RICHARD J. COBURN, MD LAWRENCE S. COLEMAN, MD NABIL T.N. CORIATY, MD RONALD E. COUTU, MD DAVID J. CROWLEY, MD BARRY A. DAVIDSON, MD DANIEL M. DEYOUNG, MD LAMBERTUS J. DROP, MD WILLIAM E. DUDLEY II, MD

50-Year Members

JAMES F. DUNPHY, MD PETER A. FERGUS, MD THADDEUS A. FIGLOCK, MD ROBERT M. FRIEDLER, MD JOHN J. FUNKHOUSER, MD SYAMA P. GANGULY, MD MARTIN F. GAYNOR JR., MD AMITABHA GHOSH-ROY, MD MICHAEL GILMAN, MD STANLEY GLASSER, MD HOWARD E. GOLD, MD EDWARD L. GOLDBERG, MD MICHAEL J. GOLDBERG, MD MAURY A. GOLDMAN, MD THOMAS F. GREGG, MD CHARLES J. HATEM, MD ROBERT HERTZIG, MD CHARLES G. HUIZENGA, MD ALFRED HUTT, MD HARRIETTE A. KARKUT, MD BERNARD D. KOSOWSKY, MD DEBORAH P. LANGSTON, MD MARTIN E. LEBER, MD

MARILYN L. LEVINE, MD MICHAEL J. LEVINE, MD ABRAM M. LONDON, MD M. WAEL LOTFI, MD MELVYN L. LURIE, MD EUGENIA MARCUS, MD MARGARET M. MCGOVERN, MD BERNARD L. MCGOWAN, MD LEON MENZER, MD JACK E. MEYER, MD DOMINICK P. MOFFRE, DO MARTIN S. OPPENHEIM, MD MARVIN C. OSTROVSKY, MD RUTH A. PAGANO, MD DANIEL M. PHILBIN, MD HENRY M. POLLOCK III, MD JANE P. PRAGER, MD ANDREW J. PRYHARSKI, MD ALLAN M. RASHBA, MD MICHAEL K. REES, MD SHERWIN H. RITTER, MD ANTHONY A. RIZZO, MD ETHAN S. ROFMAN, MD

B. HOAGLAND ROSANIA, MD DAVID S. ROSENTHAL, MD ALICIA O.M. ROSS, MD JOEL J. RUBENSTEIN, MD MICHAEL N. SCHATZ, MD GUNTHER W. SCHMITT, MD PAUL C. SCHREIBER, MD JAMES S. SIDEL, MD DAVID P. SIMMONS, MD ARTHUR T. SKARIN, MD WILLIAM E. SKINNER, MD EDWARD F. SPLAINE JR., MD PHILIP B. STODDARD, MD MADHUSUDAN P. THAKUR, MD FELIPE I. TOLENTINO, MD ATHANASSIOS E. TSAMTSOURIS, MD JOSEPH B. TWICHELL, MD PAUL ALBERT VERNAGLIA, MD PAUL F. VINGER, MD FRANK R. VIRNELLI, MD HARRY E. VONERTFELDA JR., MD IRVING L. WEISSMAN, MD

THE MASSACHUSETTS MEDICAL SOCIETY AWARDS PROGRAM 2023

Nominations are now being accepted.

For additional information, please visit our website at www.massmed.org/awards.