# 2023 MMS AWARDS



BARBARA L. A. HERBERT, MD (Posthumously) MMS Lifetime Achievement Award



MARIO E. MOTTA, MD Award for Distinguished Service to the MMS



KIAME J. MAHANIAH, MD Special Award for Excellence in Medical Service



HANNI M. STOKLOSA, MD, MPH Henry Ingersoll Bowditch Award for Excellence in Public Health



DAMIAN K. L. ARCHER, MD Grant V. Rodkey, MD, Award for Outstanding Contributions to Medical Education



ELLANA STINSON, MD, MPH, MBA Barbara A. Rockett, MD, Early Career Physician Leadership Award



Every physician matters, each patient counts.



NICOLAS TRAD for "Deconstructing PTSD: Human responses to trauma across historical and geographical boundaries"

History of Medicine Essay Award



DAVID ROACH, MD (Resident/Fellow) for "Development of a low resource assay to profile drug-resistant *K. pneumoniae* in Peru" **Information Technology Award** 



DENIZ GOODMAN (Student) for "iProbe: an ultrasound simulator application" Information Technology Award

DAVID BECHTEL, MD Senior Volunteer Physician of the Year Award



CAROLYN B. BECKER, MD The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, & Queer (LGBTQ) Health Award



SARRAH SHAHAWY, MD, MPH Reducing Health Disparities Award



CIERSTEN A. BURKS, MD Underrepresented Physicians of Tomorrow Award\*



KHAMA D. ENNIS, MD, MPH The Woman Physician Leadership Award



MEGAN R. MILLER, MD The Women's Health Award

### **Committee Chair Service Award**



BURTON G. MANDEL, MD Committee on Senior Volunteer Physicians

\* Honorable Mentions: Max Jordan Nguemeni Tiako, MD; Deniz Goodman; Julia Small

## **Community Clinician of the Year Awards**



MARYANNE C. BOMBAUGH, MD, MSc, MBA BARNSTABLE



THOMAS A. CONSOLATI, MD BERKSHIRE



CHRISTOPHER P. GIULIANO, MD **BRISTOL NORTH** 



STEPHEN S. KASPARIAN, MD BRISTOL SOUTH



LEONARD E. FREEDBERG, MD CHARLES RIVER



MELISSA J. SHERMAN, MD ESSEX SOUTH



MARGUERITE C. GUMP, MD FRANKLIN



JOHN O'REILLY, MD HAMPDEN



JONATHAN M. FALLON, DO HAMPSHIRE



JOHN V. CHANG, DO MIDDLESEX



EDWIN B. KNIGHTS, MD MIDDLESEX CENTRAL



DAMIAN FOLCH, MD MIDDLESEX NORTH



JOHN A. DELOGE, MD, MPH MIDDLESEX WEST



AMY C. LISSER, MD NORFOLK



JANET C. LIMKE, MD NORFOLK SOUTH



ROGER M. KLIGLER, MD PLYMOUTH



FRED E. SHAPIRO, DO SUFFOLK



MANJUL SHUKLA, MD WORCESTER



AUDREY A. TRACEY, MD WORCESTER NORTH



#### **Boston University School of Medicine**



JAMES VALDERRAMA



SARA YOUNG

#### Tufts University School of Medicine



ABDURRAHMAN ABDURROB



KATHERINE STEVENSON

**Harvard Medical School** 



LEEN AL KASSAB



JOHN MESSINGER

#### **University of Massachusetts Medical School**



JENNIFER SULLIVAN



CALVIN SCHAFFER

SEFIK ABDULHAYOGLU, MD KAIS R. ALHADI, MD JORGE O. ASTURIAS, MD WILLIAM W. BABSON JR., MD RICHARD W. BARR, MD EDWARD Q. BAYARD, MD ROBERT E. BESSETTE, MD ARTHUR L. BOLAND JR., MD NORMAN M. BRESS, MD ARTHUR E. BROWN, MD NORMAN D. BROWN, MD SANG KOOK CHUNG, MD THOMAS C. COCHRAN JR., MD GEORGE L. COHEN, MD BENJAMIN L. COOLEY, MD JAMES R. COX III, MD DAVID I CULLEN MD RICHARD O. DANFORD, MD ALAN DELMAN, MD ALAN S. DIAMOND, MD ENZO V. DIGIACOMO, MD GLENN A. DOBECKI, MD ROBERT A. DYE, MD TIMOTHY H. EISAMAN, MD ESTHER B. EISENSTEIN, MD BRUCE R. ELDER, MD DAVID S. FEINGOLD, MD

## **50-Year Members**

SHAHIRA H. FELOUS, MD DOUGLAS C. FIERO, MD HARVEY E. FINKEL, MD RONALD J. FINN, MD STEPHEN R. FISH, MD C. DOUGLAS FOGG, MD ROBERT R. FOSTER, MD ARTHUR H. FREEDMAN, MD RAYMOND A. GAGNON, MD RALPH G. GANICK, MD RONALD H. GOLDENSON, MD ARTHUR W. GOODMAN, MD EDWIN J. HACKER JR., MD RICHARD J. HANNAH, MD WALTER L. HARRISON, MD ROBERT W. HEALY, MD JOHN G. HERNANDEZ MD JOSEPH K. HURD JR., MD DAVID F. HYATT, MD JOSEPH E JOVINO MD KARLHANS P. JACOBSEN, MD HARRY D. KALOUSTIAN, MD STUART M. KAMENY, MD ADOLF W. KARCHMER, MD DONALD S. KAUFMAN, MD IL KIM, MD DOUGLAS JOHN KOZA, MD

#### JACOB S. KRITEMAN, MD FREDERICK D. KUEMMERLE, MD BRENT W. LAMBERT, MD ROBERT C. LEAVER, MD MELVYN B. LEVINE, MD LAWRENCE E. LIFSON, MD DAVID T. LUNDIN, MD MORTON D. LYNN, MD SUDARSHAN K. MALIK, MD KENNETH A. MARSHALL, MD RICHARD A. MAUCERI, DO ROBERT S. MAUSEL, MD KISHOR A. MEHTA, MD GLENN A. MELTZER, MD DAVID W. MOORE, MD SUBHAS C. MULLICK, MD KOLLEGALS MURTHY MD ELI H. NEWBERGER, MD IRVING JAY NEWMAN, MD JOHN M. NIGRO, MD SIDNEY NIRENBERG, MD RODISENDO P. OALICAN, MD R. HEATHER PALMER, MD **BIPINCHANDRA M. PARIKH, MD** STEPHEN W. PARKER, MD MAHESH M. PATEL, MD MARK H. POHLMAN, MD

LLOYD F. PRICE, MD THEODORE J. RAIA JR., MD SEPPO E. RAPO II, MD EDWARD J. ROBINSON, MD FAYETTE C. ROOT, MD WILLIAM B. SAXBE JR., MD MONICA J. SCHABERG, MD MADHUKAR N. SHAH, MD WILLIAM D. SHEA, MD LESLIE M. SILVERSTEIN, MD ROBERT W. SLOANE JR., MD NORMAN A. SPENCER, MD WILLIAM C. STREET, MD HERMAN D. SUIT, MD STEPHEN F. SULLIVAN, MD ELIE N. TAWA, MD ROSEK THARAKAN MD GARY E. TRATT, MD WILLEM VAN PELT, MD REMIGIO C. VILLARICO, MD ARTHUR C. WALTMAN, MD ANDREW L. WARSHAW, MD ARMAND J. YELLE, MD LAWRENCE E. YELLEN, MD MANUEL YVARS, MD

# THE MASSACHUSETTS MEDICAL SOCIETY AWARDS PROGRAM 2024

# Nominations are now being accepted.

For additional information, please visit our website at www.massmed.org/awards.