Massachusetts Medical Society: Task Force on Opioid Therapy and Physician Communication

Task Force on Opioid Therapy and Physician Communication

This task force is composed of representatives from primary care and specialties, including addiction medicine, to make recommendations regarding communication between physicians when primary responsibility for prescribing opiates changes from one physician to another or when more than one physician prescribes opiates to the same patient.

Dennis M. Dimitri, Worcester, Chair
Steven A. Adelman, Charles River
Daniel P. Alford, Suffolk
James L. Baker, MD, Worcester
Maryanne C. Bombaugh, Barnstable
John W. Burress, Charles River
David W. Casavant, Suffolk
Robert L. Deters, Worcester North
Steven M. Defossez, Essex North
Angela Haliburda, Bristol South
Barbara Herbert, Middlesex
Eugene Lambert, Norfolk
Michael D. Medlock, Essex South
Keith W. L. Rafal, Middlesex West
Luis T. Sanchez, Charles River
Zev D. Schuman-Olivier, Middlesex
Jacqueline J. Starer, Middlesex West
Thomas E. Sullivan, Essex South
Gregory A. Volturo, Worcester

Resident & Fellow Section:
Jorge L. Escobar Valle, Worcester

Medical Student Section:
Elizabeth J. Tammaro, Worcester

MMS Staff Liaison:
Susan Webb (

Task Force on Opioid Therapy and Physician Communication Meeting Minutes

Share on Facebook

Call for Nominations

The MMS Committee on Nominations is currently seeking candidates for MMS Officer positions and the Massachusetts Delegation to the AMA.

Application deadline: February 2, 2018.

Get Involved

Contribute your unique talents to the society's efforts. Elected, appointed and volunteer positions are available at district and statewide levels.


Copyright © 2018. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311