Massachusetts Medical Society: 5 physicians are honored with Committee Chair Service Awards

5 physicians are honored with Committee Chair Service Awards

Waltham – April 5th – Five members have been honored by the MMS this year with its Committee Chair Service Award, an honor recognizing exceptional leadership and service to the Society. They will receive the award at the Society’s awards luncheon at the annual meeting in Boston on April 28. 

The five are being recognized for their long-term participation in Society committees.  The honorees and the committees they served: 

Frederick O. Buckley Jr., M.D.Frederick O. Buckley Jr., M.D., Committee on Nutrition and Physical Activity. Dr. Buckley was a member of the committee for nine years, beginning in 2008, and served as committee chair for the last year. He also was a member of the House of Delegates and the Committee on Public Health.  

Lloyd D. Fisher, M.D.Lloyd D. Fisher, M.D., Committee on Communications.  A member of the committee since 2008, he served as Chair from 2010-2017.  He also is a member of the House of Delegates, Special Committee on Information Technology, and the Task Force on Electronic Health Records Interoperability and usability.  He previously served on the Ad Hoc Committee on MMS Health Care Access Initiative and the Young Physicians Committee. 

Subramanyan Jayasanker, M.D.Subramanyan Jayasanker, M.D., Committee on Professional Liability.  Dr. Jayasankar first joined the committee in 2008 and served as its chair for the last year.  He has also been a member of the Board of Trustees; House of Delegates; and the Committees on Legislation,   Quality of Medical Practice, Publications, and Ethics, Grievances & Professional Standards.  Since 2003, he has been president of the Boston Medical Library.  He is the 2017 recipient of the Award for Distinguished Service to the Massachusetts Medical Society.  

Spiro Spanakis, D.O.Spiro Spanakis, D.O., Committee on Young Physicians.  Dr. Spanakis first joined the committee in 2008 and served as its chair for eight years.  He is also a member of the Committees on Judicial Affairs and Membership and previously served on the Task Force on Gifts to the MMS and the committees on Preparedness, Interspecialty, and District Officers. 

Hugh M. Taylor, M.D.Hugh M. Taylor, M.D., Committee on Legislation. Dr. Taylor has been a member of the committee since May 2008 and served as its chair for the last year. He also is a member of the Board of Trustees, the Committee on Sustainability of Private Practice, and a board member of the MMS and Alliance Charitable Foundation.  He previously served as a member of the Committee on Strategic Planning and the Task Force on Physician Choice and Mandates.

The Massachusetts Medical Society, with some 25,000 physicians and student members, is dedicated to educating and advocating for the patients and physicians of Massachusetts. The Society, under the auspices of NEJM Group, publishes the New England Journal of Medicine, a leading global medical journal and web site, and Journal Watch alerts and newsletters covering 13 specialties. The Society is also a leader in continuing medical education providing accredited and certified activities across the globe for physicians and other health care professionals.  Founded in 1781, MMS is the oldest continuously operating medical society in the country. For more information please visit,, or

Share on Facebook

New: Advertise With MMS

Increase your brand awareness and visibility to physicians and the general public through advertising space on the MMS website and several MMS email newsletters.

Read More »

Subscribe to e-Newsletters

Stay on the cutting edge of medicine by subscribing to free MMS e-newsletters. Choose from up to ten subject areas including physician and patient advocacy, public health, CME, daily health care news, and more. 

Sign Up »

NEJM Resident 360  Ad

Copyright © 2018. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311