Massachusetts Medical Society: MMS Member News and Notes

MMS Member News and Notes

Mehmet Furkan Burak, MD

Mehmet Furkan Burak, MD (Kocaeli University, 2011; residency: Mount Auburn Hospital), was awarded the 2018 Charles A. King Trust Postdoctoral Research Fellowship Award, which supports postdoctoral fellows and physician-scientists in nonprofit academic, medical, or research institutions in Massachusetts. Dr. Burak will partner with Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health faculty to investigate the role of adipose hormone aP2 in the pathogenesis of obesity-related asthma and potential treatment. Dr. Burak is an endocrinology fellow at BWH.

David Y. Chung, MD, PhD, and Sanjat Kanjilal, MD, MPH

David Y. Chung, MD, PhD (Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, 2010; residency: New York–Presbyterian Hospital), and Sanjat Kanjilal, MD, MPH (HMS, 2010; residency: Mount Sinai Hospital), received KL2/Catalyst Medical Research Investigator Training (CMeRIT) Awards from Harvard Catalyst. The program provides advanced training in clinical and translational research to senior fellows and junior faculty. Dr. Chung is a neurointensivist at MGH and Dr. Kanjilal is associate medical director in clinical microbiology at BWH and assistant in medicine at MGH.

Darshan H. Mehta, MD, MPH

Darshan H. Mehta, MD, MPH (UT Southwestern Medical School, 2002; residency: University of Illinois), met with Narendra Modi, prime minister of India, as part of a collaboration between MGH’s Benson-Henry Institute for Mind Body Medicine and the Indian government. Their conversation centered on the importance of mind-body medicine within health care systems and the need for further research. Dr. Mehta is an internist and medical director for the Benson-Henry Institute.

Lisa L. Nagy, MD, FAAEM

Lisa L. Nagy, MD, FAAEM (Weill Cornell Medical College, 1986; residencies: Catholic Medical Center/Cornell Medical College; Metropolitan Hospital/New York Medical College), is featured in the 2018 Netflix series Afflicted, a seven-episode exploration of unexplained symptoms. Dr. Nagy, who appears largely in episode 6 (“Mind & Body”), is board-certified in environmental medicine and emergency medicine. She is medical director of the Environmental Health Center of Martha’s Vineyard, where she treats conditions including chronic fatigue and environmental sensitivities; a Society delegate; and president of the Preventive and Environmental Health Alliance, a nonprofit organization.

Matthew D. Sadof, MD

Matthew D. Sadof, MD (Rutgers Newark Medical School, 1983; residency: New York Hospital Cornell Medical Center; fellowship: Boston Children’s Hospital), was named a Healthcare Hero by Business West magazine in the Community Health category. From his office in Springfield, Dr. Sadof treated and advocated for patients suffering from asthma, which arose in part from substandard housing. His practice now focuses on working with children who are medically complex and socially fragile and teaching a new generation of socially conscious physicians. Dr. Sadof is a pediatrician affiliated with Baystate Medical Center.

Uzma M. Siddiqui, MD

Uzma M. Siddiqui, MD (Kasturba Medical College, India, 2012; residency: UMass Medical Center), joined Dartmouth-Hitchcock’s endocrinology team in Manchester, NH. Dr. Siddiqui completed her fellowship in endocrinology, diabetes, and metabolism at UMass Medical School this past June.


Hanni M. Stoklosa, MD, MPH

Hanni M. Stoklosa, MD, MPH (Tufts University School of Medicine, 2009; residency: BWH/MGH), was chosen for the National Academy of Medicine’s Emerging Leaders in Health & Medicine Program and was named a Health Innovators Fellow by the Aspen Institute. The awards recognized Dr. Stoklosa’s work in emergency medicine and her contributions to the detection and care of human trafficking victims. Dr. Stoklosa is the executive director and co-founder of HEAL Trafficking, an international organization that brings together doctors and other professionals to end human trafficking and support survivors.

Amanda Whitehouse

Amanda Whitehouse (UMass Medical School, 2021), was selected as the new chair for the American Medical Association’s Membership, Engagement, and Recruitment Committee. As chair, Ms. Whitehouse will lead a team tasked with developing new strategies to reach and recruit medical students nationally. Ms. Whitehouse is a second-year student at UMass Medical School in the Population based Urban and Rural Community Health track.

Please send your news to Learn about MMS membership at

Share on Facebook

New: A Call to Action on Physician Burnout

We’ve published our findings on physician burnout and our directives on ways to mitigate its effect.

Read More »

New: Advertise With MMS

Increase your brand awareness and visibility to physicians and the general public through advertising space on the MMS website and several MMS email newsletters.

Read More »

Subscribe to e-Newsletters

Stay on the cutting edge of medicine by subscribing to free MMS e-newsletters. Choose from up to ten subject areas including physician and patient advocacy, public health, CME, daily health care news, and more. 

Sign Up »

NEJM Resident 360  Ad

Copyright © 2019. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311