Massachusetts Medical Society: MMS Staff Directory

MMS Staff Directory

Welcome to the Massachusetts Medical Society. Below, please find a description of and contact information for the various departments within the organization.

For more assistance, please call 781-893-4610 or -3800 (M-F, 8 AM - 4 PM EST) or email info@massmed.org.


Executive Vice President

Lois Dehls Cornell, Executive Vice President



Senior Leadership Team


Executive Office And Governance

The MMS Executive Office and Governance Department oversees the administration and management of the Massachusetts Medical Society and supports the organization’s leadership, including presidential officers and executive vice president. The department also oversees the Medical Society’s governance structure, organizing House of Delegates Annual and Interim Meetings and managing MMS committees, task forces and sections. To learn more about MMS governance, please click here.

  • Executive Assistant to EVP
    Sandra Manchester - 781-434-7012 - smanchester@mms.org
  • Director, Executive Office & Governance
    Linda Healy - 781-434-7008, lhealy@mms.org
  • Manager, Executive Office and Governance
    Karen Harrison - 781-434-7463, kharrison@mms.org
  • Manager Governance Policy Administration
    Annemarie Tucker - 781-434-7332, atucker@mms.org
  • Governance Meetings & Services Project Manager
    Lacy Heffel - 781-434-7573, lheffel@mms.org
  • Executive Office Administrative Assistant
    Laura Bombrun - 781-434-7007, lbombrun@mms.org
  • Governance Administrative Assistant
    Amy McInerney - 781-434-7208, amcinerney@mms.org

Advocacy, Government, and Community Relations

The Department of Advocacy, Government, and Community Relations advocates on behalf of patients and physicians at the local, state, and federal levels. Department staff assist with the development of MMS policies and respond to legislation and regulations that impact MMS member physicians and affect their ability to provide care to their patients. Department staff, as well as MMS physician advocates, are trusted sources for decision-makers in both Massachusetts and Washington.  In addition, the department engages the MMS in patient-centered community relations programs. The department also conducts health care research and analytics used to formulate the Society’s positions on health care policy and practice issues, to inform member engagement and development efforts, and to direct the Society’s health care research strategies and activities. Learn more about MMS advocacy and key issues here.

Communications

The Department of Communications manages the Medical Society’s primary communications to members, as well as to the public. The Department produces the monthly membership magazine, Vital Signs, the free weekly e-newsletter, Vital Signs This Week, and distributes the Monday through Friday morning news alert, MMS MediaWatch. The Communications team also oversees all media relations, social media, and medical library services for members.

Sign up to receive MMS newsletters here; Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.

  • Director of Communications
    Katherine Udden - 781-434-7097, kudden@mms.org
  • Media Relations Manager
    Thomas Flanagan - 781-434-7107, tflanagan@mms.org
  • Digital Media Manager & Director of Health Information Technology
    Leon Barzin - 781-434-7048, lbarzin@nejm.org
  • Digital Engagement Specialist & Webmaster
    Kelsey Mariani - 781-434-7102, kmariani@mms.org
  • Communications Assistant
    Josh Rosenfeld - 781-434-7635, jrosenfeld@mms.org

Health Policy and Public Health

The Department of Health Policy and Public Health oversees efforts in advocacy and education on a range of topics impacting patients in the Commonwealth and across the country, including opioid use and misuse, immunization, infectious disease, tobacco, disaster preparedness, obesity, health disparities, violence intervention and prevention, and medical and recreational cannabis. The department also organizes the Medical Society’s Public Health Leadership Forum, which highlights a different emerging issue impacting public health each year. To learn more about public health topics and clinical resources, click here.

  • Director Health Policy & Public Health
    Susan Webb - 781-434-7374, swebb@mms.org
  • Manager, Health Policy & Public Health 
    Robyn Alie - 781-434-7371, ralie@mms.org
  • Manager, Health Policy & Public Health Outreach
    Candace Savage - 781-434-7017  , csavage@mms.org
  • Coordinator, Health Policy & Public Health
    Jill Cricones - 781-434-7372, jcricones@mms.org
  • Director, MMS and Alliance Charitable Foundation
    Jennifer Day - 781-434-7044, jday@mms.org 

Human Resources

Through strategic partnerships and collaboration with management and employees, the Human Resources Department provides a complement of HR services that attract, support and develop the diverse talent needed to execute on our organizational mission and vision. Visit our careers site to see available employment opportunities.

  • Director, HR Operations & Business Partnership
    Matthew V. MacDonald - 781-434-7230, mmacdonald@mms.org
  • Vice President, Chief Operating Officer/Chief Human Resources Officer
    Theresa E. Sciarappa - 781-434-7235, tsciarappa@mms.org
  • Executive Assistant to COO/CHRO; HR Projects Coordinator
    Allison Stitham - 781-434-7684, astitham@mms.org
  • Human Resources Manager
    Jennifer Fotiades - 781-434-7232, jfotiades@mms.org
  • Human Resources/Workday Associate
    Yvonne Stratton - 781-434-7236, ystratton@mms.org
  • Senior HR Generalist/Recruitment
    Terry Dawson - 781-434-7229, tdawson@mms.org
  • Director, Strategic Initiatives
    Anne D. Coughlin - 781-434-7614, acoughlin@mms.org      
  • Senior Human Resources Generalist
    Cheryl L Oglesby - 781 434-7655, coglesby@mms.org
  • Sr. HR Generalist, Benefits, Compensation & HRIS
    Trish Daly - 781 434-7709, pdaly@mms.org
  • Manager, Employee Communications/Learning & Development 
    Melissa Hennessy – 781-434-7231, mhennessy@mms.org
  • Director, Benefits, Compensation & Workday
    Joyce Dufault - 781 434-7228, jdufault@mms.org

    Member Engagement and Development

    Membership  

    The MMS is the statewide professional association for physicians and medical students in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts; it is the oldest continually operating state medical society in the United States. The Department of Member Engagement and Development oversees the processing and benefits of membership for our more than 25,000 members. Learn more about joining the MMS by clicking here.

    To call the MMS to begin the membership application process, please dial 800-322-2303, x7311.

    To join the MMS online, click here to create an account or apply for membership.

    To join the MMS by fax or by mail, click here to download an application.

    • Director of Communications, Marketing and Member Engagement
      Bill Howland - 781-434-7877, bhowland@mms.org
    • Membership Development & Marketing Manager
      Laurel Doggett - 781-434-7308, ldoggett@mms.org
    • Manager, Member Relations
      Colleen A. Hennessey - 781-434-7315, chennessey@mms.org
    • Senior Member Relations Administrator
      Erin Tally - 781-434-7413, etally@mms.org
    • Member Benefits and Marketing Coordinator
      Chew-Hoong Koh - 781-434-7312, ckoh@mms.org
    • Membership Services Specialist
      Lisa Smith - 781-434-7759, lsmith@mms.org

    Specialty Management Services (SMS)

    Under the auspices of the Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS), SMS provides cost-effective management and administrative assistance to specialty societies and other medical organizations. SMS consists of a dedicated team of association management professionals who are committed to each client organization’s goals, values, and success. Click herefor more information and a list of current clients. 

    • Manager of Association Services
      Lynda D . Layer - 781-434-7317, llayer@mms.org
    • Manager, Specialty Management Services
      Miguel Ocque - 781-434-7314, mocque@mms.org
    • Specialty Management Services Administrator
      Nathan Strunk - 781-434-7329, nstrunk@mms.org
    • Specialty Management Services Coordinator
      Mayuri Patel - 781-434-7519, mpatel@mms.org
    • Specialty Management Services Coordinator
      Deborah J. Brennan - 781-434-7518, dbrennan@mms.org
    • Specialty Management Services Coordinator
      Gayle Sommer - 800-322-2303, gsommer@mms.org
    • Specialty Management Services Coordinator
      Lina Szymkowski - 781-434-7313, lszymkowski@mms.org
    • Specialty Management Services Specialist
      Lisa Centola Bayless - 781-434-7316, lbayless@mms.org 


    Regional Outreach and AMA Activities
     

    The Department of Regional Outreach and AMA Activities ensures that MMS members have a voice at the local level as well as at national level through its affiliation with the American Medical Association. MMS regional office staff work with area district medical societies to help identify them as resources within their communities, improve relations among the district members, assist district society leadership, and help coordinate MMS activities on the regional and district level. Learn more about MMS districts and regional offices by clicking here.   

    • Director, Regional Outreach & AMA Activities
      Michele Jussaume - 781-434-7205, mjussaume@mms.org

    Northeast Regional Office

    860 Winter Street
    Waltham, MA  02451
    (800) 944-5562
    Fax: (781) 464-4823        

    • Manager, Regional Outreach
      Linda Howard - 781-434-7539 or 800-944-5562, lhoward@mms.org

    Southeast Regional Office

    10 Riverside Drive 
    Lakeville, MA 02347 
    (800) 322- 3301/ (508) 946-0120 
    Fax: (508) 946-0220 

    West Central Regional Office

    85 Post Office Park, Suite 8518 
    Wilbraham, MA 01095 
    (800) 522-3112 or (413) 596-9231 
    Fax: (413) 596-9901 

    MMS Continuing Medical Education, Accreditation & Recognition

    The MMS is a national provider of continuing medical education and has been awarded the status of Accreditation with Commendation by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME). This department develops, accredits, delivers, and reports annually on more than 1,500 CME and MOC activities in conjunction with MMS Committees and in joint providerships with other organizations. In addition, the MMS recognizes more than 41 hospitals and other healthcare organizations so that they may accredit their own individual CME activities through our Recognized Accreditor Program.

    • Product Manager, MMS Education Programs
      Jessica Vautour - 781-434-7903, jvautour@mms.org
    • Operations Specialist, NEJM Group Education
      Barbara Cacciagrani - 781-434-7331, bcacciagrani@mms.org
    • Web Content Production Specialist, NEJM Group Education
      Thelma Tatten - 781-434-7305, ttatten@mms.org
    • Director, Accreditation & Recognition
      Danna Muir - 781-434-7302, dmuir@mms.org
    • Manager, Joint Providership Program
      Liza Martin - 781-434-7301, lmartin@mms.org
    • Manager, Recognized Accreditor Program
      Nancy Marotta - 781-434-7906, nmarotta@mms.org
    • Project Manager, Accreditation & Education Compliance
      Bob Harless - 781-434-7117, bharless@mms.org

    Office of the General Counsel

    The Office of the General Counsel provides legal support for all MMS departments, as well as its affiliates and subsidiaries. While the MMS does not provide legal advice to its members, the department does provide general resources on common legal and regulatory questions; to access those resources, please click here.

    Practice Solutions and Medical Economics

    The Department of Practice Solutions and Medical Economics oversees efforts in advocacy and education on a range of topics impacting physicians including physician wellness, physician compensation, administrative simplification, patient safety and quality improvement. Department staff provide practice related insight to assist in the direction of MMS legislative and regulatory advocacy efforts and works with state agencies and member physicians on issues related to patient safety, quality measurement, cost transparency, health plan regulation and administrative simplification. The department works with health plans and state payers and advocates on behalf of physicians with regard to medical policy, reimbursement, audits, prior authorization and other claims issues. The department also runs the Physician Practice Resource Center (PPRC), which advises members on practice related issues whether for employed or private practice physicians. You can learn more about the valuable services offered by the PPRC and the department by clicking here.

    To contact the Physician Practice Resource Center, call 800-322-2302 ext. 7702 or email pprc@mms.org

    • Director, Practice Solutions & Medical Economics
      Yael Miller - 781-434-7161, ymiller@mms.org
    • Senior Practice Solutions Specialist
      Bissan Biary - 781-434-7392, bbiary@mms.org
    • Research Assistant Practice Solutions and Medical Economics
      Carly Redmond - 781-434-7717, credmond@mms.org

     

    Contact information for the Boston Medical Library – MMS Branch can be found here.

    Information about MMS Affiliates and Subsidiaries can be found here.

    Share on Facebook

    Join MMS

    MMS Members receive great benefits such as:

    • Access to the New England
      Journal of Medicine
    • A strong voice to advocate 
      medical issues
    • Conferences and Events 
       on important topics
    • And much more...

    Subscribe to e-Newsletters

    Stay on the cutting edge of medicine by subscribing to free MMS e-newsletters. Choose from up to ten subject areas including physician and patient advocacy, public health, CME, daily health care news, and more. 

    Sign Up »

    FacebookTwitterLinkedInYouTube

    Copyright © 2019. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

    (781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311