Massachusetts Medical Society: Norfolk District Medical Society

Norfolk District Medical Society

Norfolk District Medical Society Officers 2020-2021

President: Mary Lou Ashur, M.D.
Vice President: Shakti Sabharwal, M.D.
Secretary/Treasurer: Hemant Hora, M.D.

Contact Information

Mailing Address: 860 Winter Street, Waltham, MA  02451-1411
Telephone Number: 781-434-7211; 800-944-5562
District Event/Activity Contact: Michele Jussaume, Director

Norfolk District Medical Society Medical Student Scholarship Grant

Four nonrestrictive $5,000 scholarships will be awarded at the Annual April or May Meeting of the Norfolk District Society. We encourage all eligible* students to apply.


  1. Medical student who is a US citizen with a legal residence in Massachusetts for the last five years and a member of both the Norfolk District and the Massachusetts Medical Society.
  2. Satisfactory completion of the first year and prior to the completion of the third year in one of the four Massachusetts medical schools. Thus, the grant would be awarded for either the third or fourth year.

Application Process:

  1. Email complete application form (Word Doc, 2 pages) and other required documentation by February 1st to Susan Frazier at
  2. Two letters of reference from medical school faculty with whom the applicant has worked closely in a professional, academic or volunteer environment.
  3. A statement of academic standing from the medical school.4.
  4. Documentation of financial need.
  5. Brief biographical sketch and statement of personal goals.

Any questions can be submitted to: Susan Frazier at

District News

The Norfolk and Suffolk District Medical Societies hosted a Legislative Breakfast on Friday, June 14, 2019 at Faulkner Hospital.

2019 Legislative Breakfast

Picture left to right are:
Front row: Brendan Abel (MMS Regulatory and Legislative Counsel), S. Jayasankar, M.D., Natalie Kaufman (Staff Director), Representative Liz Malia, Colleen Bellotti (Legislative Aide), Senator Mike Rush, Ellana Stinson, M.D., M.P.H., Marian Craighill, M.D., M.P.H., Representative Denise Garlick, and Alexandra Kunz, M.D.
Back Row: Don Condie, M.D., Conor Kenny (Legislative Aide),  Representative William Driscoll, Francis X. Campion, M.D., Mike Annunziata, M.D., Representative Paul McMurtry, Representative Jeffrey Roy, Hank Dorkin, M.D., Representative Jon Santiago, M.D., James Gessner, M.D., and Casey Rojas (Government Relations Advisor).

2019 CCYANorfolk District honored their 2019 Community Clinician of the Year, Manfred Ernesti, MD,  posthumously at their annual meeting on April 10, 2019 at the Wellesley Country Club.  Dr. Ernesti’s children were in attendance to receive the award.  Pictured are: Mangadhara  Madineedi, MD, John Ernesti, William Ernest, Alex Ernesti,  Cecilia Ernesti-Bailey and Stephen Epstein, MD

Share on Facebook

Get Involved

Contribute your unique talents to the society's efforts. Elected, appointed and volunteer positions are available at district and statewide levels.

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedInYouTube logoInstagram

Copyright © 2020. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311