Massachusetts Medical Society: Presidents of the Massachusetts Medical Society

Presidents of the Massachusetts Medical Society

Skip to Presidents from: 2000s - 1900s - 1800s - 1700s

Maryanne C. Bombaugh, Falmouth 2019-2020

Alain A. Chaoui, Boxford 2018-2019

Henry L. Dorkin, Newton 2017-2018 - Watch Interview Here

James S. Gessner, Chestnut Hill 2016-2017 - Watch Interview Here

Dennis M. Dimitri, Worcester 2015-2016

Richard S. Pieters, Duxbury 2014-2015

Ronald W. Dunlap, Norwell 2013-2014 - Watch Interview Here 

Richard V. Aghababian, Southborough 2012-2013

Lynda M. Young, Worcester 2011-2012 - Watch Interview Here

Alice A. Tolbert Coombs, Sharon 2010-2011 - Watch Interview Here 

Mario E. Motta, Salem 2009-2010                      

Bruce S. Auerbach, Lexington 2008-2009

B. Dale Magee, Shrewsbury 2007-2008 - Watch Interview Here 

Kenneth R. Peelle, North Andover 2006-2007

Alan M. Harvey, Brookline 2005-2006

Alan C. Woodward, Concord 2004-2005 - Watch Interview Here

Thomas E. Sullivan, Beverly 2003-2004 - Watch Interview Here

Charles A. Welch, Cambridge 2002-2003

Francis X. Rockett, Newton 2001-2002 - Watch Interview Here

Virginia T. Latham, Harvard 2000-2001 - Watch Interview Here

Jack T. Evjy, Methuen 1999-2000 - Watch Interview Here

Marylou Buyse, Dover 1998-1999 - Watch Interview Here 

Allan H. Goroll, Weston 1997-1998

Joseph M. Heyman, Newburyport 1996-1997 - Watch Interview Here

Guenter L. Spanknebel, Sterling 1995-1996

Francis X. Van Houten, Concord 1994-1995 - Watch Interview Here

Leonard J. Morse, Worcester 1993-1994 - Watch Interview Here

William E. Callahan, Greenfield 1992-1993

Philip E. McCarthy, Norwood 1991-1992

Barry M. Manuel, Belmont 1990-1991 - Watch Interview Here 

William G. Lavelle, Wellesley 1989-1990

Joseph J. O'Connor, Winchester 1988-1989

James J. Siragusa, West Springfield 1987-1988

Barbara A. P. Rockett, Newton 1985-1987 - Watch Interview Here

Frederick J. Duncan, Centreville 1984-1985

Goodwill M. Stewart, Duxbury 1983-1984

Percy W. Wadman, Greenfield 1982-1983

Stanley M. Wyman, Cambridge 1981-1982

Frank E. Bixby Jr., Wenham 1980-1981

Grant V. Rodkey, Belmont 1979-1980 - Watch Interview Here

Russell J. Rowell, Beverly 1978-1979

John J. Byrne, Boston 1977-1978

C. Nason Burden, Taunton 1976-1977

Louis F. Alfano, Melrose 1975-1976

John C. Ayres, Springfield 1974-1975

Bentley P. Colcock, Chatham 1973-1974

James F. McDonough, Winchester 1972-1973

H. Thomas Ballantine Jr., Boston 1971-1972

Lamar Soutter, Concord 1970-1971

Jacob H. Fine, Beverly 1969-1970

John W. Norcross, Wellesley Hills 1968-1969

Donald A. Nickerson, Melrose 1967-1968

William Warren Babson, Gloucester 1966-1967

Claude E. Welch, Boston 1965-1966

James Marvin Baty, Duxbury 1964-1965

Allan S. Johnson, Longmeadow 1963-1964

Urban H. Eversole, Wellesley Hills 1962-1963

David W. Wallwork, North Andover 1961-1962

Carl Bearse, Boston 1960-1961

Lawrence R. Dame, Greenfield 1959-1960

Charles C. Lund, Brookline 1958-1959

Patrick J. Sullivan, Dalton 1957-1958

Howard F. Root, Brookline 1956-1957

Conrad Wesselhoeft, Boston 1955-1956

Curtis C. Tripp, New Bedford 1954-1955

Frederic Hagler, Springfield 1953-1954

Thomas H. Lanman, Chestnut Hill 1952-1953

W. Richard Ohler, Boston 1951-1952

Leland Sterling McKittrick, Boston 1950-1951

Arthur Wilburn Allen, Boston 1949-1950

David Bartholomew Reardon, Quincy 1948-1949

Edward Parsons Bagg, Holyoke 1947-1948

Dwight O'Hara, Waltham 1946-1947

Reginald Fitz, Boston 1945-1946

Elmer Stanley Bagnall, Groveland 1944-1945

Roger Irving Lee, Boston 1943-1944

George Leonard Schadt, Springfield 1942-1943

Frank Roberts Ober, Boston 1941-1942

Walter Gray Phippen, Salem 1939-1941

Channing Frothingham, Boston 1937-1939

Charles Edward Mongan, Somerville 1935-1937

William Henry Robey, Boston 1933-1935

Halbert G. Stetson, Greenfield 1931-1933

Robert Greenough, Boston 1929-1931

John H. Birnie, Springfield 1927-1929

James S. Stone, Framingham 1925-1927

Enos H. Bigelow, Framingham 1924-1925

John Washburn Bartol, Boston 1921-1923

Alfred Worcester, Waltham 1919-1921

Samuel Bayard Woodward, Worcester 1916-1919

Charles Francis Withington, Boston 1914-1916

Walter Prentice Bowers, Clinton 1912-1914

George Brune Shattuck, Boston 1910-1912

Silas Dean Presbrey, Taunton 1908-1910

George Washington Gay, Chestnut Hill 1906-1908

Arthur Tracy Cabot, Boston 1904-1906

George Ebenezer Francis, Worcester 1902-1904

Frank Winthrop Draper, Boston 1900-1902

Edwin Bayard Harvey, Westborough 1898-1900

Henry Pickering Walcott, Cambridge 1896-1898

Franklin Kittredge Paddock, Pittsfield 1894-1896

James Clarke White, Boston 1892-1894

Amos Howe Johnson, 1890-1892

David Williams Cheever, Boston 1888-1890

Thomas Hovey Gage, Worcester 1886-1888

Charles Dudley Homans, Boston 1884-1886

Alfred Hosmer, Watertown1882-1884

Henry Willard Williams, Boston 1880-1882

George Hinckley Lyman, Boston 1878-1880

William Cogswell, Bradford 1876-1878

Benjamin Eddy Cotting, Roxbury 1874-1876

George Cheyne Shattuck, Boston 1872-1874

Samuel Augustus Fisk, Northampton 1870-1872

Charles Gideon Putnam, Boston 1868-1870

Henry Coit Perkins, Newburyport 1866-1868

Augustus Addison Gould, Boston 1864-1866

Josiah Bartlett, Concord 1862-1864

John Homans, Boston 1859-1862

Luther Vose Bell, Somerville 1857-1859

Elisha Huntington, Lowell 1855-1857

George Hayward, Boston 1852-1855

John Ware, Boston 1848-1852

Zadok Howe, Billerica 1847-1848

Jacob Bigelow, Boston 1842-1847

Rufus Wyman, Roxbury 1840-1842

George Cheyne Shattuck, Boston 1836-1840

John Collins Warren, Boston 1832-1836

James Jackson, Boston 1825-1832

John Brooks, Medford 1823-1825

Joshua Fisher, Beverly 1815-1823

John Warren, Boston 1804-1815

Isaac Rand, Boston 1798-1804

Samuel Danforth, Boston 1795-1798

Cotton Tufts, Weymouth 1787-1795

Edward Augustus Holyoke, Salem 1786-1787

William Kneeland, Cambridge 1784-1786

Edward Augustus Holyoke, Salem 1782-1784

Share on Facebook
Interim Meeting 2020

2021 Annual Awards: Call for Nominations

Do you have a colleague who deserves to be nominated for their outstanding work or service to the community? The MMS and its Committee on Recognition Awards are currently seeking nominations for the 2021 Annual Award Program. Additional information and applications.

Get Involved

Contribute your unique talents to the society's efforts. Elected, appointed and volunteer positions are available at district and statewide levels.

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedInYouTube logoInstagram

Copyright © 2020. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311