Special Events

President’s Reception, Nancy N. Caron Annual Member Art Exhibit - Celebrating 25 Years of Art Exhibits, Presidential Inauguration, and Awards Ceremony

Friday, May 10, 5:00 to 9:00 p.m.(Registration opens at 4:30 p.m.)

Barbara Spivak Hugh Taylor

L to R: Barbara S. Spivak, MD, Outgoing President; Hugh Taylor, MD, Incoming President

Join the MMS leadership, your fellow colleagues, award recipients, and guests for an evening of fun and celebration at the MMS Headquarters. Attire for the meeting is business wear.

From 5:00 to 6:00 p.m., the Nancy N. Caron Annual Member Art Exhibit - Celebrating 25 Years of Art Exhibits will kick off the evening of celebrating and reconnecting with a cocktail reception and appetizers. MMS members and their families will display their creative and artistic talents for attendees to appreciate.

From 6:00 to 7:00 p.m. at the Presidential Inauguration and Awards ceremony, we will bid farewell to outgoing MMS President Barbara S. Spivak, MD, and welcome incoming MMS President Hugh Taylor, MD. The evening will be rounded out by recognition of the extraordinary 2024 MMS award recipients.

  • Lifetime Achievement Award - Charles Welch, MD
  • Award for Distinguished Service to the MMS - Henry L. Dorkin, MD, FAAP
  • Special Award for Excellence in Medical Service - Mary Elizabeth Miotto, MD, MPH, FAAP
  • Henry Ingersoll Bowditch Award for Excellence in Public Health - James J. O'Connell, MD
  • Grant V. Rodkey, MD, Award for Outstanding Contributions to Medical Education - Dennis J. Spencer, MD, PhD
  • Barbara A. Rockett, MD Early Career Physician Leadership Award - Emily C. Cleveland Manchanda, MD, MPH

Attendees may attend in person or view the ceremony via livestream.

Following the ceremony, there will be food stations and seating areas in the Conference Center to enjoy, with no assigned seating. We hope you will join us for a celebratory evening!!

Pre-registration closes for the Presidential Reception, Annual Member Art Exhibit, Presidential Inauguration, and Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, April 30, 2024. After April 30, refunds are no longer available should you need to cancel. For more information about refunds and cancellations, please go here.

  • Presidential Inauguration and Awards Ceremony Program

The Massachusetts Medical Society would like to thank the following organizations for their generous support of the MMS and its members:

Signature Sponsors



Leadership Sponsor


Event Fees:

Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS) Physician Member – $100.00

Allied Health Professional/Non-Member Physician  – $140.00

MMS Resident/Student Member – $60.00

MMS Alliance Member – $60.00

Please note: Educational vouchers are not eligible as a payment method for this event.

Annual Meeting of the Society

Saturday, May 11, 12:00–12:30 p.m.

Meeting Handouts:

Barbara S. SpivakLois Dehls Cornell

Barbara S. Spivak, MD, President, and Lois Cornell, Executive Vice President

Members are invited to attend the Annual Meeting of the Society. As part of the Annual Meeting, MMS President Barbara S. Spivak, MD, will present the State of the Society address and MMS Executive Vice President Lois Cornell will provide an update on membership. Members will vote on amendments to the MMS bylaws.

Share on Facebook


Registration for the 2024 Annual Meeting is now available.

Delegates' Handbook

The Delegates' Handbook is now available.

House of Delegates

Learn more about the MMS’ policy-making body, the House of Delegates.

Copyright © 2024. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

781-893-4610 | 781-893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: 800-322-2303 x7311