Massachusetts Medical Society: Charles River District Medical Society

Charles River District Medical Society

Charles River District Medical Society Officers 2019-2020

President: Leonard Finn, M.D.
Vice President: Brenda Pring, M.D.
Secretary: David Kieff, M.D.
Treasurer: David Kieff, M.D.

Contact Information

Mailing Address: 860 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451-1414
Telephone Numbers: 781-434-7211, 800-944-5562

District Event/Activity Contact: Linda Howard, Manager 

CRDMS Scholarship Program Criteria

The Charles River District Medical Society Program is available to any medical school student enrolled at an approved US institution who is a legal resident of one of the five towns comprising the district: Needham, Newton, Waltham, Wellesley, and Weston. Applications must be received before December 31st of the sophomore or junior year.   If the scholarship is awarded in the sophomore year it may be renewable for the junior year upon reapplication and at the discretion of the Committee on Medical Education. The scholarship is awarded at the Charles River District Annual Meeting in April.


  1. A Curriculum vitae which must include: legal address, high school and date of graduation; medical school and expected date of graduation.
  2. A letter which includes a statement of personal goal.
  3.  A copy of the Graduate and Professional School Financial Aid Service Form or a financial aid form of equivalent informational value (not the summary page).  Financial information is expected to be comprehensive (this should include parents' resources).
  4. A letter from the financial aid officer of the medical school with detailed verification of financial need.
  5. A statement of academic standing from the medical school.
  6. A letter of recommendation from a district society member or a faculty member.


Mail completed applications to:

Massachusetts Medical Society
Northeast Regional Office
860 Winter Street
Waltham, MA 02451-1411

Charles River District News

Dr. McCann and Jenn Landrein-Needham CC

Charles River District Medical Society donated $3000 to The Needham Community Council. The Needham Community Council is a private 501 (C)3 non-profit organization which supports people in Needham who have under-met health, educational or social needs and promotes volunteerism, community and a sense of shared responsibility.
Pictured Left to right are:  Laura McCann, MD, immediate past president, Charles River District and Jenn Landrein, Assistant Director of Operations and Development for The Needham Community Council.

2019 Charles River District CCYA

Michael Lew, MD was honored as the 2019 Charles River District Community Clinician of the Year at the district annual meeting held on Saturday, April 6, 2019 @ the Wellesley Country Club.
Pictured Left to right are: Carl Brownsberger, MD, Michael Lew, MD and Laura McCann, MD, President, Charles River  District.

2018 Scholarship Awardees

2018 Scholarship Awardees and the Charles River District Scholarship Committee
Front row- left to right: Alanna Hickey (UMASS), Rebecca Fiske-accepting for Eric Robbins (Tufts), Amanda Freeman, MD, Heidi Fisher, MD, Back row- left to right: Matthew Levine (NYIT College of Osteopathic Medicine), Sally Sveda, MD, and David Golden, MD

Share on Facebook

Get Involved

Contribute your unique talents to the society's efforts. Elected, appointed and volunteer positions are available at district and statewide levels.

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedInYouTube logoInstagram

Copyright © 2020. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311