Essex South District Medical Society

Essex South District Medical Society Officers 2016-2017

President:  Sanjay Aurora, M.D.
President-elect:  Ronald Newman, M.D.
Treasurer:  Michael Goldstein, M.D.
Secretary:  Michael Medlock, M.D.

Contact Information 

Mailing Address: 860 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451-1411
Telephone Number: 781-434-7211 or 800-944-5562

District Event/Activity Contact: Michele Jussaume, Director

Regional Office Assistant: Susan Frazier

ESDMS Medical Student Scholarship Program

To assist in funding the medical education of a student from an Essex South city or town.


  1. Residency in an Essex South community for at least 5 years prior to college, with a desire to return and practice in this area. These communities are:  Beverly, Danvers, Essex, Gloucester, Hamilton, Ipswich, Lynn, Lynnfield, Manchester, Marblehead, Middleton, Nahant, Peabody, Rockport, Salem, Saugus, Swampscott, Topsfield and Wenham, Massachusetts.
  2. Current curriculum vitae, which includes the permanent address, high school with date of graduation, and medical school with expected date of graduation.
  3. A statement of academic standing from the medical school.
  4. A letter of recommendation from a district society member, if possible.
  5. A letter that includes a statement of personal goals.

Scholarships will be awarded at the Annual Meeting of the Essex South District Medical Society (usually in April).

Application Deadline:
By January 1 of the academic year

Mail Requirements to: 
Essex South District Medical Society
860 Winter Street
Waltham, MA 02451-1411.

Michele Jussaume,

Susan Frazier, 

District News

Herbert L. Cooper, M.D.Herbert L. Cooper, M.D. – 2016 Essex South District Lifetime Achievement Awardee.

Peter M. Barker, M.D.Peter M. Barker, M.D. – 2016 Essex South District Community Clinician of the Year Awardee.

GravesManchester resident Suzanne F. Graves, M.D. has been honored by her physician peers of the Essex South District Medical Society as the district’s 2017 Community Clinician of the Year.

Read the news release

Elizabeth BurgessElizabeth Burgess (Wake Forest School of Medicine) received the ES Scholarships for 2016.

Nadia AuroraNadia Aurora (Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine) received the ES Scholarships for 2016.

Dr. Peter BarkerPeter Barker, M.D. is honored by Essex South District Medical Society as 2016 Community Clinician of the Year

Read the news release

Share on Facebook

Get Involved

Contribute your unique talents to the society's efforts. Elected, appointed and volunteer positions are available at district and statewide levels.


Copyright © 2017. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311