Massachusetts Medical Society: Ethics Forum Speaker Bios

Ethics Forum Speaker Bios

2022 Annual Meeting Ethics Forum — Medicine Meets Politics: Physicians, Professional Responsibility, and Public Speech

Tuesday, May 10, 2022, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Rebecca W. Brendel, MD, JD

Rebecca Weintraub Brendel, MD, JD

Dr. Brendel is director of the Master’s Degree Program at the Harvard Medical School Center for Bioethics, of which she is also an associate director. She bases her clinical work in psychiatry at Massachusetts General Hospital where she is the director of Law and Ethics at the Center for Law, Brain, and Behavior. She is Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School.

Rebecca W. Brendel, M.D., J.D. is the president-elect American Psychiatric Association, chair of the Massachusetts Medical Society Committee on Ethics, Grievances, and Professional Standards, and a member of the American Medical Association (AMA) Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs.

Dr. Brendel earned her medical degree from the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine and her law degree from the University of Chicago Law School. She completed her psychiatry residency at Massachusetts General and McLean Hospitals, a forensic psychiatry fellowship at Massachusetts General Hospital, and an ethics faculty fellowship at the Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics at Harvard. She is admitted to the Massachusetts Bar.

Charles C. Dike, MD, MPH

Charles C. Dike, MD, MPH

Charles C Dike completed medical school at Obafemi Awolowo University (Formerly University of Ife), Ile-Ife, Nigeria, and psychiatric residency at All Birmingham Hospitals Psychiatric Training Scheme (associated with the University of Birmingham), Birmingham, England. After additional psychiatric residency training at the University of Illinois at Chicago, Dr. Dike completed a fellowship training in Law and Psychiatry at Yale University School of Medical.

Dr. Dike obtained a Diploma in Clinical Psychiatry (DCP) from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ireland, and was awarded a membership of the Royal College of Psychiatrists of England in 1998. He obtained a Masters in Public Health (MPH) from the University of Illinois at Chicago in 2004.

A past president of Connecticut Psychiatric Society, Dr. Dike is a Distinguished Fellow of American Psychiatric Association (DFAPA), Fellow of the Royal College of Psychiatrists of England (FRCPsych), and Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives (FACHE). He is Chair of the Ethics Committee of the APA, former Vice President of the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law (AAPL), Co-Editor of Behavioral Sciences and the Law Journal and past Editor of the Newsletter of AAPL. He is founding Chair of the Diversity Committee and Forensic Hospital Services Committee of AAPL. He was Associate Program Director, Law and Psychiatry Fellowship Program (2012-2021) and is now Co-Division Director, Law and Psychiatry Division, Department of Psychiatry.

Dr. Dike is also Medical Director, Office of the Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services, after serving for years as Director of the state's forensic hospital facility.

Catherine S. May, MD

Catherine S. May, MD

Dr. May graduated from Indiana University Medical School in 1980. She completed a residency in Emergency Medicine at the University of Maryland Hospital a Psychiatry residency at St. Elizabeth’s Hospital. She is Board Certified in Psychiatry and Neurology and was Board Certified in Geriatric Psychiatry and Emergency Medicine. Dr. May practices general adult psychiatry in Washington, DC. She is Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry at George Washington University School of Medicine. Dr. May has served on the Grievance Committee of the Washington Psychiatric Society and has served as Chair of the WPS Ethics Committee. Dr. May is a past president of the Washington Psychiatric Society and past Chairman of the Board of the Medical Society of the District of Columbia. Dr. May has participated in disaster relief efforts delivering both psychiatric and primary care services in the Mississippi Gulf Coast, Haiti, Malawi, Kwazulu-Natal, and Lesbos. She is the recipient of the Bruno Lima Award for Disaster Psychiatry and the Cyril A. Schulman Distinguished Service Award.

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedInYouTube logoInstagram

Copyright © 2022. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311