Massachusetts Medical Society: MMS Committees (A-E)

MMS Committees (A-E)


Committee on Accreditation Review

Oversees and serves as a statewide resource for hospitals, specialty societies, and health care organizations seeking to offer continuing medical education. Monitors compliance with nationally recognized continuing medical education standards and guidelines in order to ensure quality education for physicians throughout Massachusetts and its contiguous states.

Chair: Jacob R. Karas, Essex South
Vice Chair: Henry Tulgan, Berkshire

MMS Staff Liaison: Nancy Marotta (nmarotta@nejm.org)


Committee on Administration and Management (COAM)

Provides oversight to matters related to the Society’s offices and its management, and performs other such responsibilities as shall be delegated by the Board of Trustees.

Chair: Carole E. Allen, Middlesex

MMS Staff Liaison: Lois Cornell (lcornell@mms.org)


Advisory Committee

Consists of the five most recent past presidents of the Society, the most recent of whom presides as chair. It is advisory to the President and meets at the request of the President.

Chair: David A. Rosman, Suffolk

MMS Staff Liaison: Lois Cornell (lcornell@mms.org)


Arts, History, Humanism and Culture Member Interest Network (MIN) Executive Council

The Arts, History, Humanism & Culture MIN explores the creative side of members interested in a variety of pursuits.

Chair: Robert W. Sorrenti, Worcester
Vice Chair: Janet C. Stiles, Middlesex Central

MMS Staff Liaison: Cathy Salas (csalas@mms.org)

Member Interest Network: Connect with other members with Nature, Culture and History


Boston Medical Library Trustees

Founded in 1805, the Boston Medical Library (BML) is one of the most significant sources of medical information in the world. The BML’s mission is to serve the library service needs of practicing physicians and dentists and share the history of medicine. Its priceless historical collection of medical materials and artifacts is an incomparable resource for physicians. The BML became the library for the Massachusetts Medical Society in 1947. MMS members have unlimited access to the collections of the Boston Medical Library as a benefit of membership.

President: Richard S. Pieters, Plymouth

MMS Staff Liaison: Karen Harrison (kharrison@mms.org)


Committee on Bylaws

Considers suggested bylaws changes and submits to the House of Delegates proposed amendments to the bylaws.

Chair: Victoria J. Noble, Hampden
Vice Chair: Marianne E. Felice, Worcester

MMS Staff Liaison: William Frank (wfrank@mms.org) and Brett Bauer (bbauer@mms.org)


Committee on Communications

Recommends priorities and provides counsel to the Society and MMS leadership in matters relating to communicating the Society’s strategic priorities to various audiences, with a special focus on communicating with physicians and the general public.

Chair: Mary Elizabeth A. Miotto, Middlesex West
Vice Chair: Michael Sinha, Suffolk

MMS Staff Liaison: Katherine Udden (kudden@mms.org)


Committee on Continuing Education Review (CCER)

Reviews potential MMS-provided and jointly provided educational programs to determine their eligibility for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ and risk management study, ensures that all CME activities are in compliance with the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) Updated Accreditation Criteria, and ensures that this quality programming supports the strategic priorities of the MMS.

Chair: Elizabeth W. Loder, Norfolk

MMS Staff Liaison: Jane Gagne (jgagne@mms.org)


Committee on Diversity in Medicine

Works to promote diversity within the medical profession and heighten awareness of disparities in health care access and treatment.

Chair: Simone Wildes, Norfolk South
Vice Chair: Fidencio Saldaña, Norfolk

MMS Staff Liaison: Casey Rojas (crojas@mms.org)

View Committee on Diversity in Medicine meeting minutes


Committee on Ethics, Grievances, and Professional Standards

The Committee on Ethics, Grievances, and Professional Standards is a medical peer review committee that investigates allegations of member unethical conduct through a formal grievance process. The committee is also responsible for providing advice on ethical issues to the Society's leadership and members and assisting the Society in formulating ethical policy.

Chair: Rebecca W. Brendel, Norfolk
Vice Chair: Renu Goyal, Worcester

MMS Staff Liaison: William Frank (wfrank@mms.org)


Committee on Environmental and Occupational Health

Provides advice and counsel to the Society on environmental and occupational health issues, such as health-related environmental exposures in the home, work, and outdoor environments, Department of Industrial Accidents guidelines, workers' compensation issues.

Chair: Brita E. Lundberg, Charles River
Vice Chair: Janet C. Limke, Norfolk South

MMS Staff Liaison: Sandra Jacobs (sjacobs@mms.org)

View Committee on Environmental and Occupational Health meeting minutes


Committees, Task Forces and Sections Directory

Share on Facebook

Get Involved

Contribute your unique talents to the society's efforts. Elected, appointed and volunteer positions are available at district and statewide levels.

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedInYouTube logoInstagram

Copyright © 2021. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311