Massachusetts Medical Society: Barnstable District Medical Society

Barnstable District Medical Society

Barnstable District Medical Society Officers 2021-2022

President, Anna A. Manatis, MD, MPH
Vice President, Marcia Franklin, MD
Secretary, Herbert E. Gray, MD
Treasurer, Theodore Calianos, II, MD

Contact Information

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1284, Lakeville, MA 02347-7284     
Telephone Number: 508-946-0120

District Event/Activity Contact: Sheila E. Kozlowski, Manager, Regional Outreach

Barnstable District News

Dr. Mir F. Shuttari honored by Barnstable District Medical Society as 2022 Community Clinician of the Year

Mir Shutarri

Dr. Mir F. Shuttari, a critical care medicine physician and pulmonologist in Falmouth, has been selected as the Barnstable District Medical Society’s 2022 Community Clinician of the Year, an award recognizing his professionalism and contributions as a physician.

Shuttari was nominated by his colleagues for his tireless work during the COVID-19 pandemic and for his ongoing dedication to caring for all his patients.

A member of the Barnstable District Medical Society since 2000, Shuttari is well known on Cape Cod and has made significant contributions to the practice of medicine for more than 40 years.

Shuttari is a highly trained pulmonologist whose clinical interests include lung disorders, critical care, and sleep medicine. He has been affiliated with Falmouth Hospital since 2000 and is well-respected in the medical community, as he works closely with many of his colleagues across the Cape.

Graduating with his medical degree from Osmania Medical College in India in 1980, Shuttari relocated to the United States for his training. He completed his residency at Deaconess Hospital in St. Louis, followed by his fellowship in pulmonary and critical care medicine at the University of Missouri.

He is board-certified in internal medicine, pulmonary disease, critical care medicine, and sleep medicine by the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM).

Shuttari is a longtime member of the Massachusetts Medical Society, having served a delegate to the MMS from 2005-2018. He is also a member of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine, the American Medical Association, the American College of Critical Care Medicine, and the American Thoracic Society.

Dedicated to excellence, Shuttari has been the recipient of several awards and honors throughout his career. These include Patients’ Choice Award (2013) and Compassionate Doctor Recognition (2014).

Share on Facebook

Get Involved

Contribute your unique talents to the society's efforts. Elected, appointed and volunteer positions are available at district and statewide levels.

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedInYouTube logoInstagram

Copyright © 2022. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311