Massachusetts Medical Society: Middlesex North District Medical Society

Middlesex North District Medical Society

Middlesex North District Medical Society Officers 2021-2022

President: Sheila Morehouse, MD
President-Elect: Open
Secretary: Ramya Prabhakar, MD
Treasurer: Nihdi Lal, MD

Contact Information

Mailing Address: 860 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451-1411
Telephone Number: (781) 434-7211; 800-944-5562

District Event/Activity Contact: Waqaas Bhutta, Manager     

Dr. Hugh Mahoney Scholarship Program

The Dr. Hugh Mahoney Scholarship, sponsored by the Middlesex North District Medical Society, is available to any medical school student who is enrolled and has completed one year at an accredited medical school in the United States or Canada. 

Applicants must be a legal resident of one of the following towns comprising the district: Billerica, Chelmsford, Dracut, Dunstable, Groton, Lowell, Pepperell, Tewksbury, Tyngsboro and Westford. 

To Apply:
The deadline for submitting applications is January 1. 

Click here to download an application (.pdf, 2 pages)

Please email: Susan Frazier,

For additional information, call (800) 944-5562 or fax (781) 464-4823.

District News

Dr. Geetanjali A. Akerkar Dr. Geetanjali A. Akerkar, a gastroenterologist at Lowell General Hospital and Digestive Health Specialists P.C. in Chelmsford, has been selected as the Middlesex North District Medical Society’s 2021 Community Clinician of the Year, an award recognizing her professionalism and contributions as a physician.

Dr. Akerkar, received her undergraduate degree and M.D. from Cornell University. She completed her Internship and Residency at Beth Israel Hospital and the finished her fellowship in Gastroenterology at the University of California San Francisco.

Dr. Akerkar has worked in MA for over 20 years and volunteers as a Director on Board of Mass Gastroenterological Association (MGA) and API.

 Dr. Nidhi Lal Nidhi Lal, MD, MPH received the Massachusetts Medical Society 2019 Women's Health Award.

Lawrence Johnson 2020 Middlesex North CCYALawrence Johnson, MD received the 2020 Community Clinician of the Year Award under COVID precautions without guests or members presented by Joseph Dulac, MD, President, Middlesex North District Medical Society.

Maimuna Ahmad and Nicholas MartinOn behalf of the Middlesex North District Medical Society, we would like to congratulate our two 2020 Hugh Mahoney Scholarship awardees. Maimuna Ahmad, Class of 2022, a resident of Westford and Nicholas Martin, Class of 2020, a resident of Chelmsford.

Both awardees attend University of Massachusetts Medical School in Worcester.

Joseph White Tewksbury Country ClubThe MN district met on Wednesday, February 5th at the Tewksbury Country Club to have a fireside chat with Joseph White, MBA, FACHE, President and Chief Executive Officer, Circle Health and Lowell General Hospital.

Joseph White Tewksbury CC

Tewksbury Country Club event

MND7The district members and guests enjoyed a lovely afternoon at the Lowell Memorial Auditorium on Sunday, Dec. 8th with an afternoon cocktail reception followed by the 3 p.m. Irish Tenors concert. It was a very well received and festive event. Fun was had by all.








Share on Facebook

Get Involved

Contribute your unique talents to the society's efforts. Elected, appointed and volunteer positions are available at district and statewide levels.

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedInYouTube logoInstagram

Copyright © 2021. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311