Massachusetts Medical Society: Essex South District Medical Society

Essex South District Medical Society

Essex South District Medical Society Officers 2021-2022

President: Michael Goldstein, M.D.
President-elect: Michael Medlock, M.D.
Secretary: Ihor Bilyk, M.D.
 Eric Reines, M.D.

Contact Information 

Mailing Address: 860 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451-1411
Telephone Number: 781-434-7211 or 800-944-5562

District Event/Activity Contact: Waqaas Bhutta, Manager     

Regional Office Assistant: Susan Frazier

ESDMS Medical Student Scholarship Program

To assist in funding the medical education of a student from an Essex South city or town.


  1. Residency in an Essex South community for at least 5 years prior to college, with a desire to return and practice in this area. These communities are:  Beverly, Danvers, Essex, Gloucester, Hamilton, Ipswich, Lynn, Lynnfield, Manchester, Marblehead, Middleton, Nahant, Peabody, Rockport, Salem, Saugus, Swampscott, Topsfield and Wenham, Massachusetts.
  2. Current curriculum vitae, which includes the permanent address, high school with date of graduation, and medical school with expected date of graduation.
  3. A statement of academic standing from the medical school.
  4. A letter of recommendation from a district society member, if possible.
  5. A letter that includes a statement of personal goals.

Scholarships will be awarded at the Annual Meeting of the Essex South District Medical Society (usually in April).

Application Deadline:
By January 1 of the academic year

Email Requirements to: 
Susan Frazier,

Waqaas Bhutta, Manager,
Susan Frazier, 

District News

Ron Newman

Ronald R. Newman, MD, was awarded the 2021 Essex South District Lifetime Achievement Award, in recognition of the many years of dedication to the community and his lasting contributions to the practice of medicine.

Four medical students received 2021 Essex South District Scholarships: Grace Ferri attending Boston University Medical School, Sam Fox attending UMass Medical School, Stephanie Haddad attending West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine, and Shayan Ahi McGee attending Larner College of Medicine at the University of Vermont. Each recipient received $5,000 towards their medical education.

Dr. Eric Reines honored by the Essex South District Medical Society as the 2021 Community Clinician of the Year

Eric Reines

Dr. Eric Reines has been selected by the Essex South District Medical Society as its 2021 Community Clinician of the Year, an award recognizing his professionalism and contributions as a physician.

Dr. Reines practices geriatric medicine at Element Care PACE. He also is a staff physician at Mass General Brigham Salem Hospital.

Dr. Reines is a longtime leader within the Essex South District Medical Society and currently is the organization’s treasurer. Active in the Massachusetts Medical Society, Dr. Reines is a member of its Committee on History and is an advisor to the MMS Committee on Geriatric Medicine.

Share on Facebook

2022 Awards: Call for Nomination

Do you have a colleague who deserves to be nominated for their outstanding work or service to the community? The MMS and its Committee on Recognition Awards are currently seeking nominations for the 2022 Awards. Additional info and applications.

Get Involved

Contribute your unique talents to the society's efforts. Elected, appointed and volunteer positions are available at district and statewide levels.

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedInYouTube logoInstagram

Copyright © 2021. Massachusetts Medical Society, 860 Winter Street, Waltham Woods Corporate Center, Waltham, MA 02451-1411

(781) 893-4610 | (781) 893-3800 | Member Information Hotline: (800) 322-2303 x7311